Absolute Addiction Psychiatry Review by
Integrating scientific knowledge with today's most effective treatment options, Addiction Medicine: Science and Practice, 2nd Edition, provides a wealth of information on addictions to substances and behavioral addictions.
The ASAM Essentials of Addiction Medicine by
Derived from ASAM's definitive work , Principles of Addiction Medicine, 6th Edition , this companion resource is ideal for residents, fellows, and practitioners in psychiatry, as well as addiction medicine specialists and other healthcare workers who provide care to patients with substance use disorders. Streamlined and easy to use, the Essentials volume provides authoritative information on everything from the pharmacology of addiction through diagnosis, assessment, and early intervention--all in concise, easy-to-navigate format for ease of reference. Presents the collective wisdom of hundreds of esteemed authorities on the art and science of addiction medicine, including the physical, emotional, and mental health effects of substance misuse. Features key points, review questions, and suggested readings that help maximize understanding and retention of essential concepts. Covers the various forms of addiction management, treatment of individual patient populations, management of intoxication and withdrawal, pharmacologic and behavioral interventions, recovery programs, medical disorders and complications, co-occurring addiction and psychiatric disorders, pain and addiction, children and adolescents, and ethical, legal, and liability issues. Follows the format of the larger text, with each chapter in Essentials providing a summary of the corresponding chapter in Principles . Serves as a day-to-day clinical resource as well as a review tool for those preparing for addiction medicine and addiction psychiatry certification exams. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
The ASAM Principles of Addiction Medicine by
Thoroughly updated with the latest international evidence-based research and best practices, the comprehensive sixth edition of the American Society of Addiction Medicine's (ASAM) official flagship textbook reviews the science and art behind addiction medicine and provides health care providers with the necessary information to not only properly diagnose and treat their patients, but to also serve as change agents to positively impact clinical service design and delivery, as well as global health care policy. Updated with the latest developments in Addiction Medicine and featuring chapters on emerging and high impact topics such as electronic cigarettes, cannabis as medicine, opioid overdose and opioid use disorder treatment, co-occurring pain and addiction, understanding addiction-related clinical trials, digital media as treatment platforms, TBI, neuromodulation, harm reduction, behavioral addictions, research behind spirituality and mutual help programs, co-occurring psychiatric disorders, and guidelines for using non-stigmatizing language. Covers all areas fundamental to Addiction Medicine, including neurobiology and pharmacology, epidemiology and prevention, management of intoxication and withdrawal syndromes, special populations, pharmacological and psychologically-based interventions, and medical consequences of addiction. Touches on international and military veteran-unique issues that are of special importance to the field. Brings together the world's leading addiction medicine experts, editors, and contributors with expertise in internal medicine, psychiatry, emergency medicine, public health, neuroscience, pediatrics, obstetrics & gynecology, and other fields. Sought broadly as a critical textbook for graduate medical education, as well as for everyday clinical practice and policy-making, The ASAM Principles of Addiction Medicine, Sixth Edition is ideal for addiction medicine and addiction psychiatry fellows, residents, medical students, mental health practitioners, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, primary care physicians, researchers, and more. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience: Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
The Assessment and Treatment of Addiction by
Get a quick, expert overview of all types of addiction - from addiction and substance use disorders to behavioral addictions and more.
Brief Integrated Motivational Intervention by
Brief Integrated Motivational Intervention provides clinicians and specialist practitioners with a brief, evidence-based treatment approach for motivating clients, who have comorbid mental health and alcohol and drug misuse. Combines CBT, motivational interviewing, and the authors' own cognitive- behavioural integrated treatment (C-BIT) to engage clients in meaningful dialogue for change Utilizes the short 'window of opportunity' when clients are admitted to psychiatric hospital or have recently relapsed, and helps clinicians to maximize the potential of this 'teachable moment' Helpful tools such as session-specific content, illustrative case material and easy-to-use worksheets facilitate implementation of the approach across a range of settings including inpatient, community, and residential Developed by an expert team with many years of experience in both research and practice in the fields of psychosis and addiction
Demystifying Opioid Conversion Calculations by 
Handbook of Addiction Psychopharmacology by
The Wiley-Blackwell Handbook of Addiction Psychopharmacology presents a comprehensive guide to contemporary research approaches to the study of drug addiction in adults. With a focus on empirically relevant research methods and nuanced methodologies, it provides practical tools to enable strong psychopharmacological practices. Contributions from experts in diverse domains offer reviews of the most current experimental methodologies, make recommendations for 'best-practices', and identify future directions for the field. Topics covered include core methods for assessing drug effects, distal and proximal determinants of drug use, and insights from cognitive neuroscience. Compiled by a team of widely-published researchers in substance addiction, the Wiley-Blackwell Handbook of Addiction Psychopharmacology is an authoritative, state-of-the-art collection of modern research approaches for the scientific study of drug addiction. Its multidisciplinary approach makes it a comprehensive and invaluable resource for all those in this field
The Handbook of Drugs and Society by
This handbook provides a comprehensive examination of the past and present roles of drugs in society with a focus on theory, research, policy, and practice. Includes 28 original chapters with multi-disciplinary and international perspectives by top social and behavioral scientists Reviews current knowledge in the field, including key research findings, theoretical developments, and methodological debates Identifies ongoing controversies in the field, emergent topics, and areas in need of further inquiry Discusses individual drugs as well as topics like physiological theories of drug use and abuse, public health implications of drugs, patterns of drugs and crime, international drug trade and trafficking, and designer drugs
Substance Use Disorders: A Guide for the Primary Care Provider by
This practical and timely book provides comprehensive, state-of-the-art guidance on how primary care clinicians can best care for patients with substance use disorders. The book covers the major drugs of abuse, as well as the more recent ones, detailing the biology of various addictions and all dimensions of clinical diagnosis and management. It is organized in four parts: (1) The Basics, (2) Psychoactive Substance Dependencies, (3) Diagnosis, Treatment, Recovery, Relapse, and the Family, and (4) Special Groups. Part I, The Basics, consists of an overview, the various definitions of substance dependence, and the pharmacology of addictive substances. Chapter 1, Overview, is an introductory chapter that covers material common to the entire field of substance dependence. Chapter 2 covers the various definitions of substance dependence, and Chapter 3 reviews the pharmacology of addictive substances. Part II, Psychoactive Substance Dependencies, explains the various drug dependencies--alcohol dependence, sedative-hypnotic dependence, opioid dependence, stimulant dependence, nicotine dependence, cannabis dependence, dissociative dependence, inhalant dependence, hallucinogen dependence, and anabolic steroid dependence. Part III addresses diagnosis, treatment, recovery, relapse, and the family. Part IV, Special Groups, discusses substance dependence in women, adolescents, the elderly, ethnic minority groups, co-occurring disorders, LGBT patients, HIV positive patients, and the impaired physician. In addition to primary care physicians, Substance Use Disorders: A Guide for the Primary Care Provider will serve as an invaluable resource to primary care nurse practitioners and physician assistants, as well as medical students, primary care residents, emergency medicine physicians, ASAM and APA certified addictionists and those studying for certification in those specialties, psychiatrists, psychologists, and alcohol/drug counselors.
