Hospital Medicine: Drug Information
Core eBooks
Basic and Clinical Pharmacology by ISBN: 9781259641152Publication Date: 2017-11-30Extensive use of full-color illustrations and expanded coverage of transporters, pharmacogenomics, and new drugs of all types.
Brenner and Stevens' Pharmacology by
More detailed than an outlined review but less overwhelming than an encyclopedic reference, Brenner and Stevens' Pharmacology, 6th Edition, focuses on the essential principles you need to know in a concise, easy-to-understand manner. Authored by Craig W. Stevens, PhD, this highly illustrated introductory text helps you learn and retain key information in pharmacology-taking you from course exams and the USMLE Step 1 right through to clinical practice. New and extensively revised content keeps you up to date with the latest pharmacologic mechanisms and applications. Teaches the fundamental aspects of pharmacology using full-color illustrations, detailed explanations, and a consistent format to present classification of drugs for each system/disease. Helps you understand both the basic science foundations and clinical applications of pharmacology, with useful tables, drug classifications boxes, case studies, and self-assessments in each chapter to help you review and prepare for course exams and Step 1. Includes the latest drugs and therapeutic indications (more than 100 are new to this edition), along with an entirely new chapter on recent developments of immunopharmacology drugs, including antivirals and vaccinations. Addresses key topics such as antiviral and monoclonal drugs to treat COVID-19, the opioid epidemic, and gene therapy. Features more than 700 new and updated images, with many revised figures focused on clearing presenting the mechanism of action of drugs. Includes access to bonus eBook content such as animations, an additional glossary, chapter-by-chapter summaries and case studies, a full list of featured drugs, 150 USMLE-style self-assessment questions, and more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323758987Publication Date: 2022-06-27
Brody's Human Pharmacology by
Focusing on the essential aspects of pharmacology you need to know, Brody's Human Pharmacology, 6th Edition, keeps you fully up to date with all that's new in the field. Streamlined content, a new organizational approach, enhanced online components, and thoroughly updated information ensure your grasp of key concepts and prepare you for exams. Nearly 500 full-color illustrations explain important processes, while color-coded boxes for major drugs, therapeutic overviews, clinical problems, and trade names reinforce your mastery of the information. The 6th Edition of this easy-to-use text is now fully up to date with: NEW chapter devoted entirely to pharmacogenomics and personalized medicine. NEW chapter on cannabinoids and their use for pain and other disorders, in light of recent legalization in many states. NEW chapters on recent developments in the treatment of Alzheimer's disease, ADHD and the latest treatments for HIV. NEW section on pain management. NEW section in each chapter covering "Clinical Relevance for Healthcare Professionals" that provides important information specific to physical therapists, dentists and dental hygienists, and many other medical professionals. Plus these student-friendly features: A new organizational approach, focusing on integration and systems-based learning. Contributions from leading faculty who cover the most important aspects of pharmacology necessary for a basic understanding of the subject, including concepts, clinical applications, and side effects. USMLE-style self-assessment questions at the end of every chapter, answers and rationales in the Appendix. Online access to Student Consult?where you'll find the complete contents of the book, fully searchable...150 USMLE-style questions...and more.
ISBN: 9780323476522Publication Date: 2018-07-24
Goodman and Gilman's the Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, 14th Edition by
The go-to pharmacology reference that medical and health science professionals have relied upon for more than 50 Years! For more than 50 years, Goodman & Gilman's: The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, has been the comprehensive, go-to reference that medical and health science professionals have relied upon as the pinnacle of authority and accuracy in describing the actions and uses of therapeutic agents in relation to physiology and pathophysiology. Goodman & Gilman's balance of basic science and clinical applications has guided thousands of health care practitioners and students to a clear understanding of the drugs essential to preventing, diagnosing and treating disease. The fourteenth edition features more than 600 color illustrations, including 50 new figures on mechanism of drug actions which emphasizes the link between basic mechanisms of action of drug action, pathophysiology of disease, and therapeutic use of drugs. Features: * Five NEW chapters:  Pharmacovigilance  Gastrointestinal Microbiome and Drug Response  The Blood-Brain Barrier  Cannabis  Antibodies, Immune Checkpoint Inhibitors, CAR-T cells, and other Biological Agents * 600+ color illustrations * 50 NEW figures on mechanism of drug actions * All chapters have been revised and generally expanded with new material * Throughout: Expanded coverage of the need to consider genetic polymorphisms in designing appropriate therapies * A greatly revised and expanded chapter on Pharmacodynamics and the Molecular Mechanisms of Drug Action * 53 NEW contributors * NEW online updates
ISBN: 9781264258079Publication Date: 2022-11-01
Elsevier's 2024 Intravenous Medications by
Find the essential information you need to safely administer more than 400 intravenous drugs! For nearly 50 years, Elsevier's Intravenous Medications: A Handbook for Nurses and Health Professionals has been a trusted resource for complete, accurate drug information in a concise, quick-access format. New to the 2024 edition are 8 monographs of the most recent IV drugs to be approved by the FDA, in addition to updated drug uses, interactions, precautions, alerts, and patient teaching instructions for all current IV drugs. Known as the #1 IV drug handbook on the market, this annual publication is ideal for use in critical care areas, at the nursing station, in the office, and in public health and home care settings. Detailed monographs on more than 400 IV drugs provide an impressive breadth of coverage that goes well beyond any comparable drug reference. Individual monographs include the drug name, phonetic pronunciation, usual dose, dilution, compatibility, rate of administration, actions, indications and uses, contraindications, precautions, interactions, side effects, antidote, and more. Additional drug monographs are provided on the Evolve website. Highlighted Black Box Warnings make it easy to locate information on medications with serious safety risks. Blue-screened text calls attention to special circumstances not covered by Black Box Warnings. Dosage and dilution charts within monographs provide quick summaries of essential clinical information. Life-stage dosage variances are highlighted for geriatric, pediatric, infant, and neonatal patients. Convenient, A-to-Z format organizes all drug monographs by generic name, allowing you to find any drug in seconds. Spiral binding allows the book to lie flat, leaving your hands free to perform other tasks. NEW! Drug monographs for 8 newly approved drugs by the FDA include the most current information. NEW! Updates on drug uses, interactions, precautions, alerts, and more are included throughout the guide to reflect changes to existing medications. NEW! Information on preparation and administration of injectable drugs from the National Coalition for IV Push Safety
ISBN: 9780443118838Publication Date: 2023-05-29
Medical Pharmacology and Therapeutics by
Medical Pharmacology & Therapeutics provides all the information medical and healthcare students need throughout their degree programme and beyond, including for professional qualifications such as the PSA. This all-round textbook covers basic pharmacology through to drug prescribing in clinical contexts, covering the pathogenic mechanisms of disease; drug actions, side effects, and the therapeutic principles of drug use. It takes a helpful systems-based approach that orders information according to body systems and disease areas, rather than by drug class. Now in its sixth edition, the book has been fully updated to include latest scientific understanding of drug action and administration and current best practice in prescribing medications, informed by the latest national guidelines. A clinical focus throughout - suitable for medical, nursing and other healthcare students throughout their training Thorough update of clinically-relevant medicines to ensure best practice Information aligned with the British National Formulary (BNF), NICE guidelines and relevant professional benchmarks Comprehensive drug compendia allow all drugs to be identified and placed within their respective classes Extensive self-assessment questions to support learning and revision New to this edition Expanded discussion of the pathophysiology and management of shock Revised discussion of the management of chronic pain Consideration of treatment of Covid-19 Expanded discussion of the pathophysiology and management of shock Revised discussion of the management of chronic pain Consideration of treatment of Covid-19
ISBN: 9780702081590Publication Date: 2022-01-28
Drug Monographs
- LexidrugProvides two essential tools: a searchable Drug Information database and an interactive Drug Interaction tool. Also includes American Hospital Formulary Service (AHFS) Drug Information, Drug ID, and other tools
- Natural MedicineAn authoritative resource available on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary alternative and integrative therapies. (Access onsite only)
- Orange Book: Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence EvaluationsPublished by the FDA, it serves as the gold standard reference for generic drug substitution.
- UptoDate What's New in Drug TherapyA list of new drugs, drug approvals, drug warnings, and drugs removed from the market from the past six months
Drug Identifiers
Package Inserts & labels
- DailyMedOfficial provider of FDA label information (package inserts)
- Dietary Supplement Label DatabaseThe National Institutes of Health's Dietary Supplement Label Database (DSLD) includes current and historical label information from products marketed in the U.S.
- Drugs@FDAIncludes most of the drug products approved since 1939. The majority of patient information, labels, approval letters, reviews, and other information are available for drug products approved since 1998.
Apps
Patient Education
- MedlinePlus Drugs, Herbs & SupplementsHas information on prescription and over-the-counter medications, dietary supplements and herbal remedies. It iIncludes side effects, dosage, special precautions, drug interactions and more.
Herbs and Supplements
- Natural MedicineAn authoritative resource available on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary alternative and integrative therapies. (Access onsite only)
- Dietary Supplement Label DatabaseThe National Institutes of Health's Dietary Supplement Label Database (DSLD) includes current and historical label information from products marketed in the U.S.
- MedlinePlus Drugs, Herbs & SupplementsHas information on prescription and over-the-counter medications, dietary supplements and herbal remedies. It iIncludes side effects, dosage, special precautions, drug interactions and more.
- National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health- Herbs at a Glancea series of brief fact sheets that provides basic information about specific herbs or botanicals—common names, what the science says, potential side effects and cautions, and resources for more information.