Library: Hospitalist: Home

Core Books

Principles and Practice of Hospital Medicine, Second Edition by Sylvia C. McKean; John J. Ross; Daniel D. Dressler; Danielle Scheurer Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality,  authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The leading textbook of hospital medicine - completely updated to reflect today's challenges  A Doody's Core Title for 2019!  Since its publication in 2012, Principles and Practice of Hospital Medicine, Second Edition has become the field's premier resource. Comprehensive, authoritative, and practical, this landmark text provides a solid grounding in clinical, organizational, and administrative areas central to the practice of hospital medicine. The Second Edition has been completely updated to reflect the evolving practice responsibilities of hospitalists. Examples include value-based medicine, expanded surgical content, bedside clinical reasoning, and a new segment devoted to rehabilitation and skilled nursing care. This edition also features a more accessible and streamlined full-color design enriched by more than 600 illustrations. Each clinical chapter opens with boxed Key Clinical Questions that are addressed in the text and summarized in hundreds of tables.  Case studies demonstrate how to apply this information specifically to the management of hospitalized patients. Representing the expertise of more than two hundred renowned contributors, Principles and Practice of Hospital Medicine, Second Edition is logically divided into six sections: * The Specialty of Hospital Medicine and Systems of Care * Medical Consultation * Rehabilitation and Skilled Nursing Care * The Approach to the Patient at the Bedside * Diagnostic Testing and Procedures * Clinical Conditions in the Inpatient Setting Principles and Practice of Hospital Medicine, Second Edition is essential reading for clinicians who strive to optimize inpatient care and sharpen their leadership skills.
ISBN: 9780071843133
Publication Date: 2016-12-05
Acute Medicine by David C. Sprigings (Editor); John B. Chambers (Editor)
ISBN: 9781118644287
Publication Date: 2017-07-11
Clinical Approaches to Hospital Medicine by Kevin Conrad (Editor) This book provides an update on recent clinical practice and an in-depth view of selected topics relevant to hospital medicine.  It is divided into four sections that explore clinical, administrative, systems and ethical issues.  Each section places an emphasis on the opportunities, challenges and potential directions of this bourgeoning subspecialty.   This new edition expands on topics covered in the previous edition, including the COVID-19 pandemic, racial disparities in healthcare delivery and providers, and pediatric hospital medicine. Other chapters explore worldwide practice patterns and practical application of philosophical tools in daily practice.   This up-to-date resource provides hospitalists, advanced nurse practitioners, medical students and administrators with the latest research, trends and issues in hospital medicine.  
ISBN: 9783030951634
Publication Date: 2022-03-17
CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 2023 by Maxine A. Papadakis The most popular annual guide of its kind--fully updated to reflect all new clinical developments in every field of adult medicine For 60+ years, CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment has been delivering the authoritative information students, residents, and clinicians need to build their medical knowledge, expertise, and confidence. Written by top experts in their fields, this unmatched guide is formatted in a way that enables you to find the answers you need quickly and easily.
ISBN: 9781264687343
Publication Date: 2022-09-02
Ferri's Best Test by Fred F. Ferri Clinicians at all levels must consider a myriad of tests in the diagnostic process, requiring an up-to-date understanding of changing technology and the demands of time- and cost-efficiency. Ferri's Best Test, 5th Edition, is a unique, easy-to-use guide that simplifies complex information and helps you choose the best test to supplement your clinical diagnostic skills. It includes both lab and imaging tests for concise, convenient access to all diagnostic test options for more than 200 common diseases and disorders. . Practical, concise, spiral-bound, and pocket-sized-designed from cover to cover for quick, on-the-go reference. . Three convenient sections provide quick access to key information on clinical laboratory testing, diagnostic imaging, and diagnostic algorithms. . New and updated content on cardiac computed tomography angiography, computed tomography perfusion imaging, COVID-19, and much more. . Coverage of 23 new laboratory tests and 14 new diseases and disorders. . Essential information on indications, advantages, disadvantages, approximate costs, normal ranges, typical abnormalities, likeliest causes, and more. . Experienced author Dr. Fred Ferri uses a unique, easy-to-follow format to simplify complex information and help you choose the best test for every patient. . New appendices on electrocardiography and respiratory testing and function. . Comparison tables and illustrations help improve your test selection. . Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook includes an image collection with access on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323812894
Publication Date: 2022-04-22
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, 21e, 2021 by Joseph Loscalzo; Anthony S. Fauci; Dennis L. Kasper; Stephen Hauser; Dan Longo; J. Larry Jameson The Voice of Clinical Reason Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine is the world's most trusted clinical medicine text--and a superb resource for learning the art and science of clinical reasoning. Recognized by healthcare professionals worldwide as the leading authority on applied pathophysiology and clinical medicine,
ISBN: 9781264268504
Publication Date: 2022-04-15
Hospital-Based Palliative Medicine by Steven Z. Pantilat (Editor); Wendy Anderson (Editor); Matthew Gonzales (Editor); Eric Widera (Editor); Scott A. Flanders (Series edited by); Sanjay Saint (Series edited by)
ISBN: 9781118772577
Publication Date: 2015-01-27
Hospital Infection Prevention by Chand Wattal (Editor); Nancy Khardori (Editor)
ISBN: 9788132216087
Publication Date: 2013-10-30
Hospitalists' Guide to the Care of Older Patients by Brent C. Williams; Preeti N. Malani; David H. Wesorick The first book designed specifically for hospitalists and other hospital-based staff who need concise, evidence-based guidance on the vital topic of caring for older hospitalized patients Hospitalists' Guide to the Care of Older Patients is an up-to-date, practical reference in geriatric medicine for hospitalists, as well as other physicians and nurses working in the hospital setting. The book uses numerous tables, figures, and images to highlight the areas of geriatric medicine that are most relevant to hospitalists. Written by nationally recognized experts, chapters broadly follow the course of hospitalization, from admission through daily care and active management of the transition to post-hospital settings, providing practical, evidence-based guidance at each point. Contents include: A systematic approach to the care of older patients, emphasizing clinical skills and daily activities that can be implemented in today's hospital environment Techniques for effective communication with patients and their caregivers Tools and "pearls" for quickly and accurately assessing the whole patient, including risk for in-hospital complications, function, decision-making capacity, and home support Best practices for prevention and management of the complications of hospitalization, including delirium, falls, pressure ulcers, and hip fractures Specific recommendations in areas with wide practice variation, such as psychopharmacology and nutrition in older hospitalized patients Practical guidance on complex issues, such as establishing goals of care, managing patients who lack decision-making capacity, and managing the discharge transition Methods to improve the daily work and communication of the whole hospital team, including physicians, nurses, and other healthcare providers As the population ages, hospitalists are caring for an increasing number of older patients. This book helps hospitalists expand their knowledge, incorporate key clinical skills into daily practice, build more efficient patient care teams, and teach more effectively in today's fast-paced, complex hospital environment.
ISBN: 9781118127926
Publication Date: 2013-09-03
Quick Medical Diagnosis & Treatment

Clinical Resources

UptoDate
AccessMedicine
Cochrane Systematic Reviews
ClinicalKey Provides quick access to full-text medical and surgical resources including ebooks, journal articles, clinical practice guidelines, point-of-care clinical monographs, procedural guides, images, videos, drug information, and patient education handouts.
Lexidrug
PubMed@MercyHealth
Ovid Fulltext