Library: Medical Students: Home

General USMLE Resources

Test-Taking Strategies for the USMLE STEP 2 Exam: Proven Methods to Succeed by Julia I. Reading
ISBN: 9781264258758
Publication Date: 2023-01-12

Staff

Lori Gawdyda, MLS
Librarian, Medical Library
email: lori_gawdyda1@mercy.com
phone: 330-480-3589
Hours: Monday-Friday 8:00 am - 4:30 pm

James Ritter, PhD
Archivist, Jeghers Medical Index
email: jritter1@mercy.com
Hours: Tuesday - Thursday 7:00 am - 3:30 pm

The library is accessible 24/7 for patrons using their ID badge.

Request Forms

Medical Student Books

The ICU Book by Paul L. Marino
ISBN: 9781451121186
Publication Date: 2013-11-05
Rapid Interpretation of EKG's by Dale Dubin
ISBN: 9780912912066
Publication Date: 2000-10-01
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, 20th edition by J. Larry Jameson, MD, PhD
ISBN: 9781259644047
Publication Date: 2018
Atlas of Human Anatomy by Frank H. Netter The only anatomy atlas illustrated by physicians, Atlas of Human Anatomy, 7th edition, brings you world-renowned, exquisitely clear views of the human body with a clinical perspective. In addition to the famous work of Dr. Frank Netter, you'll also find nearly 100 paintings by Dr. Carlos A. G. Machado, one of today's foremost medical illustrators. Together, these two uniquely talented physician-artists highlight the most clinically relevant views of the human body. In addition, more than 50 carefully selected radiologic images help bridge illustrated anatomy to living anatomy as seen in everyday practice. Region-by-region coverage, including Muscle Table appendices at the end of each section. Large, clear illustrations with comprehensive labels not only of major structures, but also of those with important relationships. Tabular material in separate pages and additional supporting material as a part of the electronic companion so the printed page stays focused on the illustration. Updates to the 7th Edition - based on requests from students and practitioners alike: New Systems Overview section featuring brand-new, full-body views of surface anatomy, vessels, nerves, and lymphatics. More than 25 new illustrations by Dr. Machado, including the clinically important fascial columns of the neck, deep veins of the leg, hip bursae, and vasculature of the prostate; and difficult-to-visualize areas like the infratemporal fossa. New Clinical Tables at the end of each regional section that focus on structures with high clinical significance. These tables provide quick summaries, organized by body system, and indicate where to best view key structures in the illustrated plates. More than 50 new radiologic images - some completely new views and others using newer imaging tools - have been included based on their ability to assist readers in grasping key elements of gross anatomy. Updated terminology based on the international anatomic standard, Terminologia Anatomica, with common clinical eponyms included. Student Consult access includes a pincode to unlock the complete enhanced eBook of the Atlas through Student Consult. Every plate in the Atlas-and over 100 Bonus Plates including illustrations from previous editions-are enhanced with an interactive label quiz option and supplemented with "Plate Pearls" that provide quick key points and supplemental tools for learning, reviewing, and assessing your knowledge of the major themes of each plate. Tools include 300 multiple choice questions, videos, 3D models, and links to related plates.
ISBN: 9780323393225
Publication Date: 2018-02-27
Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking, 13e by Lynn S. Bickley; Peter G. Szilagyi; Richard M. Hoffman; Rainier P. Soriano This highly regarded text includes fully illustrated, step-by-step techniques that outline the correct performance of the physical examination and an easy-to-follow two-column format that correlates examination techniques on the left and abnormalities (clearly indicated in red) with differential diagnoses on the right.
ISBN: 9781496398178
Publication Date: 2020-08-26

Research Tools

Medical Full-text articles
Quickly find journal articles using the google-like search box. Members of the clinical team can use keywords and simultaneously search several medical databases and electronic textbooks. Easy retrieval of full-text articles. Searchable by article title and author.
PubMed@MercyHeatlh
Search PubMed's database of 37 million+ biomedical citations, with full-text access to Mercy Health's journal subscriptions. Includes clinical trials, systematic reviews, case reports, and practice guidelines from over 5,000 journals.
ClinicalKey
• 1000+ textbooks, 600+ journals
• Clinical Overview - Succinct, easy-to-navigate monographs for quick answers at the point of care
• Procedures Consult - Step-by-step videos
• Practice Guidelines
• Drug reference
Cochrane Reviews This link opens in a new window
International EBM resource includes: Cochrane systematic reviews; Database of abstracts of reviews of effectiveness (DARE); Cochrane central register of controlled trials (CENTRAL); Cochrane database of methodology reviews; and other Cochrane databases
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search tool for scholarly information including PubMed, conference papers, theses, dissertations, technical reports, case law and patents.
OVID MEDLINE
Includes Epub Ahead of Print, In-Process & Other Non-Indexed Citations and Daily 1946 to January 31, 2020

Point of Care

Lexidrug
Drug information, dosage, drug interactions, adverse effects, pharmacokinetics, MercyHealth Formulary, AHFS, Drug comparison, pill identifier, Trissel's IV compatibility, Toxicology, MSDS
UpToDate
Highly referenced topic reviews written by recognized subject experts who synthesize the evidence, summarize it, and provide recommendations.