Library home page
Jeghers Medical Index serves Mercy Health.
Help with Research, Data Analysis, Editing, Posters
If you need help analyzing your data contact David Gemmel, Director GME Research, david_gemmel@mercy.com or call 330-480-2113(direct) or 330-480-3326(assistant Tara)
Statistics Journals
Statistics Books
-
Basic & Clinical Biostatistics: Fifth Edition
by
The 5th edition has been updated throughout to deliver a comprehensive, timely introduction to biostatistics and epidemiology as applied to medicine, clinical practice, and research. Particular emphasis is on study design and interpretation of results of research.
ISBN: 9781260455366Publication Date: 2019-10-04 -
Biostatistics: The Bare Essentials
by
This new edition of Biostatistics: The Bare Essentials continues the tradition of translating biostatistics in the health sciences literature with clarity and irreverence.
ISBN: 9781607951780Publication Date: 2014-02-01 -
Intuitive Biostatistics
by
Intuitive Biostatistics takes a non-technical, non-quantitative approach to statistics and emphasizes interpretation of statistical results rather than the computational strategies for generating statistical data.
ISBN: 9780190643560Publication Date: 2017-11-15 -
Jekel's Epidemiology, Biostatistics, Preventive Medicine, and Public Health
by
Written by renowned epidemiologists and public health experts, this unique text provides complete, concise coverage of epidemiology, biostatistics, preventive medicine, and public health in clear, easy-to-understand terms.
ISBN: 9780323642019Publication Date: 2020-01-29 -
Statistics in Clinical Practice
by
These days a basic knowledge of statistics is essential for good clinical practice, which presents a daunting challenge to health professionals who are not mathematically inclined. This book is aimed at clinicians and students who view statistics as a necessary evil. It covers the summary and presentation of data as might be required for a clinical meeting, audit or the planning of services, and explains how to interpret the p-values and confidence intervals that are reported in medical and scientific journals.
ISBN: 9780727916099Publication Date: 2002-11-01 -
Using Statistics in the Social and Health Sciences with SPSS and Excel
by
Provides a step-by-step approach to statistical procedures to analyze data and conduct research, with detailed sections in each chapter explaining SPSS® and Excel® applications This book identifies connections between statistical applications and research design using cases, examples, and discussion of specific topics from the social and health sciences. Researched and class-tested to ensure an accessible presentation, the book combines clear, step-by-step explanations for both the novice and professional alike to understand the fundamental statistical practices for organizing, analyzing, and drawing conclusions from research data in their field. The book begins with an introduction to descriptive and inferential statistics and then acquaints readers with important features of statistical applications (SPSS and Excel) that support statistical analysis and decision making. Subsequent chapters treat the procedures commonly employed when working with data across various fields of social science research. Individual chapters are devoted to specific statistical procedures, each ending with lab application exercises that pose research questions, examine the questions through their application in SPSS and Excel, and conclude with a brief research report that outlines key findings drawn from the results. Real-world examples and data from social and health sciences research are used throughout the book, allowing readers to reinforce their comprehension of the material. Using Statistics in the Social and Health Sciences with SPSS® and Excel® includes: Use of straightforward procedures and examples that help students focus on understanding of analysis and interpretation of findings Inclusion of a data lab section in each chapter that provides relevant, clear examples Introduction to advanced statistical procedures in chapter sections (e.g., regression diagnostics) and separate chapters (e.g., multiple linear regression) for greater relevance to real-world research needs Emphasizing applied statistical analyses, this book can serve as the primary text in undergraduate and graduate university courses within departments of sociology, psychology, urban studies, health sciences, and public health, as well as other related departments. It will also be useful to statistics practitioners through extended sections using SPSS® and Excel® for analyzing data.
ISBN: 9781119121046Publication Date: 2016-08-29
Data & Statistics websites
-
Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS)The world's largest, on-going telephone health survey system. Compare prevalence of variables across states or years. From the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
-
SEER (Surveillance, Epidemiology and End Results) ProgramFrom the National Cancer Institute. SEER collects information on incidence, prevalence and survival from specific geographic areas representing 28 percent of the US population. Has cancer mortality for the US.
-
UNdataThe UN's Statistical Division for global data dissemination. Combines 15 databases and 55 million records from different UN agencies. Major topics include agriculture, employment, education, energy, environment, health, human development, industry, information and communication technology, population, refugees, trade, and tourism. 192 country profiles (from the More link)provide a snapshot and map from the annual World Statistics Pocketbook and other country-related data series and tables.
-
UNICEF Statistics and monitoringInternational statistics on the situation of children and women around the world.
-
WHO - Global Health Observatory (GHO) dataFrom the World Health Organization - Data repository, World health statistics report, Statistical reports, Country statistics, Map gallery, WHO indicator registry
-
World Bank's DatabankHas several databases including World Development Indicators - the primary World Bank collection of development indicators.
Health Nutrition and Population Statistics - Key health, nutrition and population statistics gathered from a variety of international sources.